British Athletics has today announced a 49-strong team that will represent the country at the World Para Athletics Championships London 2017, including 21 medallists from the 2016 Rio Paralympic Games.

Ten 2016 Paralympic Games gold medallists have been selected including Hannah Cockroft (coach: Jenni Banks), Aled Davies (Ryan Spencer-Jones), Jonnie Peacock (Dan Pfaff / Michael Khmel) and Richard Whitehead (Keith Antoine), all of whom who topped the podium at the London Stadium and will be hoping to repeat their magnificent feats once again in July.

Cockroft has been in scintillating form in recent weeks, setting a remarkable five world records in Switzerland over the last fortnight. With seven world titles already to her name, the Yorkshire born-athlete is seeking to continue her legend as she seeks to replicate her triple success from Doha, two years ago in the T34 100m, 400m and 800m.

One of the iconic moments of the 2012 Paralympic Games in the London Stadium was Peacock silencing the crowd before he captured T44 100m gold. He will have a chance to experience that atmosphere once again on Sunday July 16th as he targets a second world title over the distance.

Like Cockroft, Davies and Whitehead have also been in world record breaking form in 2017. The former has thrown 17.40m in the shot put and 54.85m in the discus respectively and will be looking to recapture the wonderful double he achieved in Doha two years ago. Whitehead, meanwhile, lowered his best over 200m in Nottwil last week to 23.01, and will be targeting double success in the T42 100m and 200m in London.

Fellow Rio gold medallists; Hollie Arnold (David Parker), Paul Blake (Rob Ellchuk), Jo Butterfield (Phil Peat / Shona Malcolm), Kadeena Cox (Brian Scobie), Sophie Hahn (Joe McDonnell) and Georgie Hermitage (Paul McGregor) will all be eyeing the podium on their quest for further world glory.

Teenage talents Kare Adenegan (Job King) and Maria Lyle (Ryan Freckleton), who are already world medallists after joy in Doha back in 2015, will again excite the home crowds in Stratford. They will be complemented by the experienced hands in the team with Stephen Miller (Ros Miller) looking to make his seventh appearance at a World Championships representing the British team, whilst Graeme Ballard (Trevor Painter) and Dan Greaves (John Godina) add to their wealth of Championships.

There are a trio of debutants who will represent the British team for the first time, on home soil. T13 sprinter and jumper, Zak Skinner (David Hull), has been in exceptional form so far in 2017, revising his 100m personal best to 11.24 and his long jump to 6.54m. T20 athlete Martina Barber (Paddy O’Shea) and T42 long jumper Luke Sinnott (Roger Keller), an Invictus Games medallist, also earn a call-up to their first ever senior British Athletics team.

Commenting upon the team selection, Para Athletics Head Coach Paula Dunn said: “We have selected a very strong team for the World Para Athletics Championships in London, and I am delighted to see so many medallists from Rio lining up alongside some new faces at the senior level. Having a home world championship is very special for all the athletes, coaches and team staff, so we are all very honoured to be representing the British team this summer. We have selected five athletes who topped the podium at the Paralympic Games in 2012, so they have valuable experience of a home championship. I expect the British public will throw their support behind the team once more, and our team will create some unforgettable memories for them once again in the London Stadium.”

British Athletics Team for the World Para Athletics Championships London 2017 taking place between 14-23 July 2017:
Kare Adenegan (Job King) – T34 100m, 400m and 800m
Hollie Arnold (David Parker) – F46 Javelin
Graeme Ballard (Trevor Painter) – T36 100m and 200m
Martina Barber (Paddy O’Shea) – T20 Long Jump
Paul Blake (Rob Ellchuk) – T36 100m, 200m and 400m
Dan Bramall (Peter Wyman) – T33 100m
Olivia Breen (Aston Moore) – T38 Long Jump, 100m and 4x100m relay
Jonathan Broom-Edwards (Paul Harrison) – T44 High Jump
Mickey Bushell (Jenny Archer) – T53 100m
Jo Butterfield (Phil Peat / Shona Malcolm) – F51 Club Throw and Discus
Richard Chiassaro (Jenni Banks) – T54 200m, 400m, 800m and 1500m
Hannah Cockroft (Jenni Banks) – T34 100m, 400m and 800m
Kadeena Cox (Brian Scobie) – T38 100m, 200m, 400m and 4x100m relay
Aled Davies (Ryan Spencer-Jones) – F42 Shot Put and Discus
Kyron Duke (Anthony Hughes) – F41 Shot Put
Sabrina Fortune (Antony Hughes / Ian Robinson) – F20 Shot Put
Toby Gold (Jenni Banks) – T33 100m
Dan Greaves (John Godina) – F44 Discus
Kylie Grimes (Phil Peat) – F51 Club Throw
Sophie Hahn (Joe McDonnell) – T38 100m, 200m and 4x100m relay
James Hamilton (Mark Kirk) – T20 800m and 1500m
David Henson (Roger Keller) – T42 100m and 200m
Georgie Hermitage (Paul McGregor) – T37 100m, 400m and 4x100m relay
Jordan Howe (Christian Malcolm) – T35 100m
Abbie Hunnisett (Anthony Hughes / Mark Hunnisett) – F32 Club Throw
Jade Jones (Ian Thompson / Tanni Grey-Thompson) – T54 800m, 1500m and 5000m
Rhys Jones (Christian Malcolm) – T37 100m
Sophie Kamlish (Rob Ellchuk) – T44 100m
Sammi Kinghorn (Ian Mirfin) – T53 100m, 200m, 400m and 800m
Maria Lyle (Ryan Freckleton) – T35 100m, 200m and 4x100m relay
Nathan Maguire (Ste Hoskins) – T54 200m, 400m and 800m
Polly Maton (Colin Baross) – T47 100m and Long Jump
Stephen Miller (Ros Miller) – F32 Club Throw
Stephen Morris (James Thie) – T20 800m, 1500m and 5000m
Jonnie Peacock (Dan Pfaff / Mike Khmel) – T44 100m
Gemma Prescott (Mike Wood) – F32 Club Throw
Stefanie Reid (Aston Moore) – T44 Long Jump
Ben Rowlings (Job King) – T34 400m and 800m
Sam Ruddock (Jim Edwards) – F35 Shot Put
Zac Shaw (Joe McDonnell) – T12 100m and 200m
Luke Sinnott (Roger Keller) – T42 Long Jump
Zak Skinner (David Hull) – T13 100m and Long Jump
Andrew Small (Rick Hoskins) – T33 100m
Laura Sugar (Femi Akinsanya) – T44 100m and 200m
Carly Tait (Jenni Banks) – T34 100m, 400m and 800m
Kieran Tscherniawsky (Jim Edwards) – F33 Shot Put
Isaac Towers (Peter Wyman) – T34 400m and 800m
Vanessa Wallace (Alison O’Riordan) – F34 Shot Put
Richard Whitehead (Keith Antoine) – T42 100m and 200m