Two female sprint athletes racing
Photo credit: British Athletics/Getty Images

Elliot Giles (coach: Jon Bigg, club: Birchfield) will captain the Great Britain and Northern Ireland team at the European Athletics Championships in Rome, Italy between the 7-12 June 2024.

Giles – European bronze medallist from 2016 – comes into the Championships in a rich vein of form having gone inside the Olympic Games qualification marks for the 800m and 1500m already this season, and he will star for GB & NI on day one of the Championships in the men’s 800m heats.

The two-time Olympian, who has been competing in British teams since 2016, has run a season best time of 1:44.46 in Marseille last month, so he will be one to watch at the Stadio Olimpico this week.

On receiving the captaincy, Giles said, ““It is cool to have that full circle moment to be captain at the Europeans eight years after my first Europeans where I won the bronze medal. I did not factor it in coming into the Championships, but to go from been the young gun on the team to the captain is pretty special.

“It is an honour and I feel really proud to have done the speech. I think I was more nervous doing the speech than I will be lining up in my heat tomorrow.

“I think all the athletes can learn from each other. When I was new on the team, I was so naïve, I didn’t know what to expect. I then set an element of pressure on myself and a lot of expectation, but the reality is, I have now stripped that away and I am just competing and enjoying it.”

Team Leader, Paula Dunn said, “I’m really pleased to select Elliot as the team captain for this Championships. Elliot has vast Championship experience having been a part of several British teams, including two Olympic Games, for a number of years, so he has a lot of knowledge and guidance to pass on to the rest of the team.”

The Great Britain and Northern Ireland team for the European Athletics Championships Rome 2024:



Dina Asher-Smith (Edrick Floréal, Blackheath & Bromley)

Amy Hunt (Marco Airale, Charnwood)


Daryll Neita (Marco Airale, Cambridge Harriers)


Laviai Nielsen (Tony Lester, Enfield & Haringey)

Victoria Ohuruogu (Newham & Essex Beagles)


Alex Bell (Andrew Henderson, Leeds)

Keely Hodgkinson (Trevor Painter, Leigh)

Erin Wallace (Trevor Painter, Giffnock North)


Georgia Bell (Trevor Painter, Belgrave)

Jemma Reekie (Jon Bigg, Kilbarchan)

Katie Snowden (Stephen Haas, Herne Hill)


Izzy Fry (Sonia McGeorge, Newbury)

Amy-Eloise Neale (Rob Denmark, Wakefield)

Hannah Nuttall (Helen Clitheroe, Charnwood)


Megan Keith (Ross Cairns, Inverness)

Eilish McColgan (Liz Nuttall, Dundee Hawkhill)

Jessica Warner-Judd (Mick Judd, Blackburn)


Cindy Sember (Chris Johnson, Woodford Green Essex Ladies)


Jessie Knight (Marina Armstrong, Windsor Slough Eton & Hounslow)

Lina Nielsen (Tony Lester, Shaftesbury Barnet)

3000m SC

Lizzie Bird (Pat McCurry, Shaftesbury Barnet)

Pole Vault

Holly Bradshaw (Kate Rooney, Blackburn)

Molly Caudery (Scott Simpson, Thames Valley)

High Jump

Morgan Lake (Robbie Grabarz, Windsor Slough Eton & Hounslow)


Charlotte Payne (Paul Dickenson, Reading)

Anna Purchase (Mohamed Ali Saatara, Notts)


Katarina Johnson-Thompson (Aston Moore, Liverpool)

Jade O’Dowda (John Lane, Newham & Essex Beagles)

4 x 100m

Dina Asher-Smith (Edrick Floréal, Blackheath & Bromley)

Desiree Henry (Steve Fudge, Enfield & Haringey)

Amy Hunt (Marco Airale, Charnwood)

Daryll Neita (Marco Airale, Cambridge Harriers)

Asha Phillip (Amy Deem, Newham and Essex Beagles)

Aleeya Sibbons (Coral Nourrice, Newham and Essex Beagles)

Mixed 4x400m – In addition to athletes selected for Men’s 4x400m

Hannah Kelly (Les Hall, Bolton)

Emily Newnham (Nick Dakin, Shaftesbury Barnet)

Half Marathon

Abbie Donnelly (Rob Lewis, Lincoln Wellington)

Clara Evans (Chris Jones, Pontypridd)

Calli Hauger-Thackery (Hallamshire)

Lauren McNeil (Hallamshire)



Romell Glave (Michael Afilaka, Croydon)

CJ Ujah (Steve Fudge, Enfield and Haringey)


Jona Efoloko (Ryan Freckleton, Sale Harriers Manchester)

Jeriel Quainoo (Ryan Freckleton, Blackheath & Bromley)


Charlie Dobson (Leon Baptiste, Colchester)

Alex Haydock-Wilson (Earl Herbert, Windsor Slough Eton and Hounslow)


Callum Dodds (Matthew Yates, Enfield & Haringey)

Elliot Giles (Jon Bigg, Birchfield)

Thomas Randolph (Craig Winrow, Tamworth)


Adam Fogg (Cory Leslie, Coventry)

Neil Gourley (Stephen Haas, Giffnock North)


George Mills (Thomas Dreißigacker, Brighton Phoenix)

Jack Rowe (Tim Eglen, Aldershot Farnham and District)

James West (Helen Clitheroe, Tonbridge)


Patrick Dever (Andy Bibby, Preston)

Rory Leonard (Andrew Hobdell, Morpeth)

Zakariya Mahamed (Idris Hamud, Southampton)

20k Race Walk

Callum Wilkinson (Robert Heffernan, Enfield & Haringey)


Tade Ojora (Joanna Hayes, Windsor Slough Eton & Hounslow)


Alastair Chalmers (Matt Elias, Guernsey)


Mark Pearce (Luke Gunn, Shaftesbury Barnet)

Zak Seddon (Geoff Wightman, Bracknell)

Long Jump

Jacob Fincham-Dukes (Matt Barton, Leeds)


Lawrence Okoye (Zane Duquemin, Croydon)


Jake Norris (Paul Dickenson, Windsor Slough Eton and Hounslow)

Shot Put

Scott Lincoln (Paul Wilson, City of York)

4 x 100m

Jona Efoloko (Ryan Freckleton, Sale Harriers Manchester)

Romell Glave (Michael Afilaka, Croydon)

Richard Kilty (Gateshead)

Jeriel Quainoo (Ryan Freckleton, Blackheath & Bromley)

CJ Ujah (Steve Fudge, Enfield and Haringey)

4 x 400m

Charlie Carvell (Stewart Marshall, Telford AC)

Lewis Davey (Trevor Painter, Newham & Essex Beagles)

Toby Harries (David Sadkin, Brighton Phoenix)

Alex Haydock-Wilson (Earl Herbert, Windsor Slough Eton and Hounslow)

Michael Ohioze (Craig Cox, Shaftesbury Barnet)