A further 24 athletes have been added to the British team heading to Bydgoszcz for the IAAF World Junior Championships on 19-24 July.

James Weaver (coach: Laura Turner-Alleyne) ran a new personal best in Mannheim last weekend which leaves him third in the world rankings in the 110m hurdles, and is selected to join Matthew Treston (Adrian Brown) in that event.

Following her excellent race in Mannheim last weekend where she set a new PB of 23.55, inside the 23.70 standard, Finette Agyapong (Coral Nourrice), was confirmed in the women’s 200m. Joining her in the 200m will be Notts AC’s Charlotte McLennaghan (David Hourd).

Other athletes in the 40-strong team include Mannheim winner Cameron Chalmers (Daniel Cossins) in the 400m and George Armstrong (Michael Swain) in the discus.

Edinburgh AC’s Cameron Tindle (Henry Gray) is selected to join Ryan Gorman (Karen Buck) in the 200m after a strong run in Mannheim.

European lead and Kent AC’s Alex Yee (Kenneth Pike) is selected for the 5000m.

Tom Gale (Denis Doyle) joins previously selected Rory Dwyer (Fuzz Caan) in the high jump while Charlie Myers (Chris Boundy) joins European Junior Champion and British Junior record holder, Adam Hague (Trevor Fox) in the pole vault.

Hannah Brier (Neal Merry) joins Imani Lansiquot (Jonas Tawiah-Dodoo), fourth at the British Championships last month, in the 100m with Oliver Bromby (Sara Macdonald-Gray) joining Rechmial Miller (Ryan Freckleton) in the men’s 100m.

Jo Summers, British Athletics Development Manager and Team Leader for the GB Junior Team in 2016, said “We have seen some excellent performances over the last few weeks in Germany, at the British Championships and other competitions. These events have not only produced qualifying standards for some but have provided great competition experience for all our juniors as we move forward to the challenging environment of the World Junior Championships later this month.

“We have taken the opportunity to select a team of athletes who can challenge for medals as well as top eight finishes in Poland and I am confident the 40 athletes selected will be keen to grasp this chance to compete on a world stage in 2016.”

“The stadium at Bydgoszcz is fantastic and the organisers are well used to hosting age-group competitions, so this talented crop of young athletes will get a taste of what is hopefully on the agenda for them at global championships in years to come.”

Full British Athletics team for the World Junior Championships (asterisks indicate athletes selected in second wave):
100m: Rechmial Miller (Ryan Freckleton), *Oliver Bromby (Sara MacDonald-Gray)
200m: Ryan Gorman (Karen Buck), *Cameron Tindle (Henry Gray)
400m: *Cameron Chalmers (Daniel Cossins)
800m: Daniel Rowden (Richard Thurston), *Spencer Thomas (Jon Bigg)
1500m: Josh Kerr (Joe Franklin), *Archie Davis (Joel Kidger)
5000m: *Alex Yee (Kenneth Pike)
110m Hurdles: Matthew Treston (Adrian Brown), *James Weaver (Laura Turner-Alleyne)
10000m Race Walk: Cameron Corbishley (Andi Drake), Callum Wilkinson (Mick Graham)
High Jump: Rory Dwyer (Fuzz Caan), *Tom Gale (Denis Doyle)
Long Jump: *Alex Farquharson (Andy Vincent), *Patrick Sylla (Zac Kerin)
Pole Vault: Adam Hague (Trevor Fox), *Charlie Myers (Chris Boundy)
Discus: George Evans (Colin McCulloch), *George Armstrong (Michael Swain)
Javelin: Harry Hughes (Mike McNeill), *James Whiteaker
4 x 100m relay: Rechmial Miller (Ryan Freckleton), Oliver Bromby (Sara MacDonald-Gray), Ryan Gorman (Karen Buck), Cameron Tindle (Henry Gray), *Gerald Matthew (Jane Dixon), Zanson Plummer (Jonas Tawiah-Dodoo)

100m: Imani Lansiquot (Jonas Tawiah-Dodoo), *Hannah Brier (Neal Merry)
200m: *Finette Agyapong (Coral Nourrice), *Charlotte McLennaghan (David Hourd)
400m: *Hannah Williams (Colin Gaynor), *Lily Beckford (Linford Christie)
1500m: Bobby Clay (Rob Denmark), *Harriet Knowles-Jones (Paul Roden)
100m hurdles: Alicia Barrett (Toni Minichiello), Mollie Courtney (David Warner)
400m hurdles: *Chelsea Walker (Rick Betts)
3000m steeplechase: Aimee Pratt (Vincente Modahl)
4 x 100m relay: Imani Lansiquot (Jonas Tawiah- Dodoo), Hannah Brier (Neal Merry), Finette Agyapong (Coral Nourrice), Charlotte McLennaghan (David Hourd), *Megan Marrs (Tom Reynolds), *Sophie Yorke (David Warner)