Following on from the elite women’s team announcement for the UCI Road World Championships in Imola last week, British Cycling has today confirmed the riders for the elite men’s time trial and road race events.

Geraint Thomas will once again pull on the Great Britain Cycling Team jersey, contesting the time trial event on Friday 25 September along with Alex Dowsett who scored a top five finish in the event in Yorkshire last year.

Luke Rowe and Hugh Carthy will head to Imola from the Tour de France for the road race on Sunday 27 September, where they will be joined by Matt Holmes, James Knox, James Shaw and Tom Pidcock.

Performance director Stephen Park said: “We have consistently seen some fantastic results from British riders at the major road races over recent months, and I’m confident that success will translate across to the UCI Road World Championships.

“Geraint is in good form, as proven by his second place finish on the General Classification at the Tirreno Adriatico, and we have been working closely with Alex and his coaches over recent months to support his time trial ambitions, so I’m confident we will see some good results in that event.

“As we always do, we’ve seen Luke play a solid role as team captain during the Tour de France this year, and it’s been brilliant to see Hugh Carthy up there for his team on the mountain stages. I’m also pleased to see Tom Pidcock selected for the elite men’s race, having won this year’s Giro d’Italia Under 23. He’s a great talent, and a highlight this year was watching him finish in second place in the elite cyclo-cross world championships, so I’m looking forward to seeing him take on the elite men’s field out on the road.

“The way the race calendar is this year means we are missing some of our Grand Tour specialists in the road race as they prepare for the forthcoming Giro d’Italia and Vuelta a Espana, but regardless of that I believe we have a strong men’s team for both the road race and the time trial events and I know we will make the fans proud.”

Elite Men’s Road Race

Hugh Carthy

Matt Holmes

James Knox

Tom Pidcock

Luke Rowe

James Shaw

Elite Men’s Time Trial

Alex Dowsett

Geraint Thomas