Image: British Cycling

British Cycling has announced the 20 riders who will compete at the forthcoming UCI Track Cycling World Championships in Berlin, in what will be the final opportunity for the Great Britain Cycling Team to score qualifying points for the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games.

Laura and Jason Kenny, who both have the potential to become Britain’s most successful Olympians should they be selected for Tokyo, have made the world championships squad, as have fellow Olympic medallists Ed Clancy, Katie Archibald, Elinor Barker, Phil Hindes, Jason Kenny and Katy Marchant.

European team pursuit champions Ellie Dickinson and Neah Evans along with senior academy rider Josie Knight complete the women’s endurance squad, while Kian Emadi, Ethan Hayter, Mark Stewart, Charlie Tanfield, Matt Walls and Ollie Wood have made selection for the men’s endurance squad alongside Clancy.

In the sprint events, Jack Carlin and Ryan Owens will join Kenny and Hindes, while Marchant will be joined by Lauren Bate and Sophie Capewell.

Performance Director Stephen Park said: “The world championships in Berlin mark an important milestone on the path to the Olympic Games for the track cyclists and, as has always been our clear intention for this stage of the cycle, our focus now is on those riders who we believe have the potential to win a medal in Tokyo.

“The bar in track cycling is continuously being raised, which is great for keeping the sport healthy, but also means the fight for every medal is much tougher so Berlin will be interesting.

“It’s also a good opportunity for our riders to show the selectors what they’re capable of and to help stake their claim on a place within the Olympic squad.

“Morale within the team is high as the anticipation of an Olympic Games grows, and everyone is looking forward to competing in Berlin.”

Four-time world champion Elinor Barker said: “I’m really happy to be selected to represent Great Britain at the final world championships before the Olympic Games and have the opportunity to compete for more rainbow jerseys. Training has been going well, and it feels like everything is starting to come together for the team now so I’m excited to see how my teammates and I get on in Berlin.”

The Great Britain Cycling Team for the UCI Track Cycling World Championships, Berlin:

Men’s Endurance
Ed Clancy
Kian Emadi
Ethan Hayter
Mark Stewart
Charlie Tanfield
Matt Walls
Ollie Wood

Women’s Endurance
Katie Archibald
Elinor Barker
Eleanor Dickinson
Neah Evans
Laura Kenny
Josie Knight

Men’s Sprint
Jack Carlin
Phil Hindes
Jason Kenny
Ryan Owens

Women’s Sprint
Lauren Bate
Sophie Capewell
Katy Marchant