Image: British Cycling

No less than six Olympic medallists have been named on the list of Great Britain Cycling Team riders preparing to compete at the forthcoming Tissot UCI Track Cycling World Cup which is being hosted in Glasgow.

Scotland’s very own Katie Archibald, reigning world champion Elinor Barker, Ed Clancy, Phil Hindes, Jason Kenny and Katy Marchant will all be in action on the boards of the Sir Chris Hoy velodrome from 8th – 10th November.

Joining Archibald and Barker in the women’s endurance events will be Ellie Dickinson and Neah Evans, both of whom – along with Archibald – retained their European team pursuit title earlier this month.

In the men’s endurance events, Ethan Hayter, Charlie Tanfield and Ollie Wood will represent the Great Britain Cycling Team along with Clancy.

The six-time Olympic champion Kenny and two-time Olympic champion Hindes will line-up along with Scotland’s Jack Carlin, Ryan Owens and Joe Truman for the men’s sprint events, while Marchant will compete alongside Lauren Bate, Sophie Capewell (riding for Team Inspired) and Milly Tanner in the women’s sprint events.

Stephen Park OBE, British Cycling’s Performance Director, said: “We opened the 2019/20 track cycling season with nine medals at the UEC European Championships in Apeldoorn, which was a great start but it did highlight some areas we need to work on in order to achieve our ambitions of topping the medal table once more in Tokyo 2020.

“With just 269 days to go until the Olympics begin, our focus is now fully on those riders we believe will be medal competitive in Tokyo, and we have selected the team for Glasgow and Minsk (the world cup round before Glasgow), accordingly. As such, we have entered strong teams into both events as the early rounds of this season’s world cup series will be crucial for us.

“I’m expecting to see some fast and impressive performances from the Great Britain Cycling Team in Glasgow. What really helps lift the team is having the home crowd support, so Glasgow will be particularly important and I look forward to having the support of a full house behind us.”

A limited number of tickets are still available for the event, which will once again see para-cycling events take place on the first evening of competition. Further information is available here, and tickets can be purchased from here.

The Great Britain Cycling Team for TISSOT UCI Track Cycling World Cup, Glasgow:

Men’s Endurance
Ed Clancy
Ethan Hayter
Charlie Tanfield
Ollie Wood

Women’s Endurance
Katie Archibald
Elinor Barker
Ellie Dickinson
Neah Evans

Men’s Sprint
Jack Carlin
Phil Hindes
Jason Kenny
Ryan Owens
Joe Truman

Women’s Sprint
Lauren Bate
Sophie Capewell (Team Inspired)
Katy Marchant
Milly Tanner

The Great Britain Cycling Team para-cyclists confirmed for the para-cycling events will be announced in due course.