Image Credit: 5311 Media

British Cycling can today confirm that Leicester will host the 2020 British BMX Championships, along with the full list of dates and venues for the HSBC UK | National BMX Series.

Next year will represent the first time that Leicester has hosted the championships, although it is the second year running in which they will have been staged in the East Midlands, following this year’s event in Derby which saw Quillan Isidore and Ellie Featherstone crowned champions in the elite categories.

The 2020 event will take place at the Leicester’s Huncote Leisure Centre over the weekend of August 29 and 30.

The national series dates have also been confirmed, with the opening rounds again taking place at Manchester’s HSBC UK National Cycling Centre in March, and the series concluding in Telford in August.

The Manchester round will once again precede the UCI BMX Supercross World Cup, which will take place at the same venue in April.

From Manchester, the series moves on to Birmingham then Cumbernauld, which returns to the series calendar for the first time since 2017. Kent’s Cyclopark hosts rounds 7 and 8, while the final two venues, Gosport and Telford, are back on the calendar.

Nicky Hawker, BMX Event Director, said: “Next year is set to be a thrilling one for BMX racing, with another world cup taking place on British soil, then of course the Olympic Games in Tokyo. We’re delighted with the quality of venues lined up to host the British BMX Championships and rounds of the HSBC UK | National BMX Series, both of which will again provide a great showcase for our sport domestically.”

The full 2020 HSBC UK | National BMX Series is:

Rounds 1 & 2: 7-8 March – Manchester

Rounds 3 & 4: 4-5 April – Birmingham

Rounds 5 & 6: 16-17 May – Cumbernauld

Rounds 7 & 8: 13-14 June – Cyclopark

Rounds 9 & 10: 18-19 July – Gosport

Rounds 11 & 12: 15-16 August – Telford

2020 British BMX Championships:

29-30 August – Leicester