Ironman 70.3 Tallinn Estonia Eurpean Championship logo

For the first time, Estonia will host an IRONMAN 70.3 European Championship with the event taking place on August 6th, 2023, in Tallinn. The IRONMAN 70.3 European Championship Tallinn triathlon will feature over 70 men and women professional athletes who will be racing for a piece of the $75,000 prize purse and a shot to grab one of six early qualification Slots to the 2024 VinFast IRONMAN 70.3 World Championship on 14 & 15 December 2024 in Taupō, New Zealand.

The women’s professional race promises to be tightly contested, featuring an exciting line-up that will create even more suspense ahead of this year’s VinFast IRONMAN 70.3 World Championship this August. Last year’s IRONMAN 70.3 European Champion, Emma Pallant-Browne (GBR), is back to defend her title. Pallant-Browne has been in hot form with 10 podium finishes in her last 10 IRONMAN 70.3 Triathlon events. With wins this year at IRONMAN 70.3 Aix-en-Provence in May and IRONMAN 70.3 Swansea in July. However, it won’t be a straightforward win for her, with Laura Phillipp (DEU) having put her name down on the start list. Phillip has had a great season so far with wins at the ISUZU IRONMAN African Championship in South Africa, and IRONMAN 70.3 Kraichgau powered by Kraichgau Energie in Germany.

The day won’t be all about ‘Pallant-Browne verse Phillipp’, with a strong contingent of women looking to take them both down and claim those European bragging rights ahead of the VinFast IRONMAN 70.3 World Championship in Lahti, Finland. The start list will also feature Lisa Norden (SWE), Lucy Hall (GBR), Imogen Simmonds (CHE), Daniela Bleymehl (DEU), Sara Pérez Sala (ESP) and Amelia Watkinson (NZL).

The men’s field will see a new IRONMAN 70.3 European Champion being crowned in the absence of Daniel Bækkegård (DEN). Pieter Heemeryck (BEL) will be looking for his first win of the season having come second at IRONMAN European Championship Hamburg in June and sixth at IRONMAN 70.3 Lanzarote in March. Heemeryck will be joined on the start line by Filipe Azevedo (PRT) who has already had the taste of victory this year at IRONMAN 70.3 Davao Philippines in March. The duo will be fighting off the likes of Mike Phillips (NZL), Antonio Benito López (ESP), Tom Hug (CHE), Jan Stratmann (DEU), Jesper Svensson (SWE), Maurice Clavel (DEU) and Youri Keulen (NLD).

Athletes will kick off the day with a 1.9km swim at Lake Harku, followed by a fast flat 90.1km bike course through the southern villages before returning to Tallinn. Lastly, a 21.1km run course featuring picturesque views of Tallinn Bay before finishing in front of the Rocca al Mare Centre.

The full professional start list for the 2023 IRONMAN European Championship Tallinn is below:

1 Pallant-Browne, Emma, United Kingdom

2 Philipp, Laura, Germany

3 Norden, Lisa, Sweden

6 Hall, Lucy, United Kingdom

8 Simmonds, Imogen, Switzerland

9 Bleymehl, Daniela, Germany

10 Pérez Sala, Sara, Spain

11 Watkinson, Amelia, New Zealand

14 Bergsten, Anna, Sweden

15 Mitchell, Olivia, Ireland

16 Lucas, Lottie, United Arab Emirates

17 Kivioja, Kaidi, Estonia

18 Bailly, Alexia, France

22 Pohjalainen, Tiina, Finland

23 Botti, Rachel, Switzerland

24 Addie, Laura, United Kingdom

25 Weber, Jasmin, Switzerland

26 Davies, Daisy, United Kingdom

28 Meyer, Carolin, Germany

29 Christensen, Katrine, Denmark

30 Boulanger, Aurélia, France

31 Salskov Jensen, Cecilie, Denmark

32 Koistinen, Minna, Finland)

35 Heemeryck, Pieter, Belgium

36 Azevedo, Filipe, Portugal

37 Phillips, Mike, New Zealand

38 Benito López, Antonio, Spain

43 Stratmann, Jan, Germany

44 Keulen, Youri, Netherlands

45 De Keyser, Christophe, Belgium

46 Svensson, Jesper, Sweden

47 Hug, Tom, Switzerland

48 Fabian, Alessandro, Italy

49 Stojanovic, Ognjen, Serbia

50 Viain, Simon, France

51 Kibby, Mitch, Australia

53 Reuter, Fabian, Germany

54 Clavel, Maurice, Germany

55 Costes, Antony, France

56 Mennesson, William, France

57 Jarrige, Yvan, France

58 Goesch, Henrik, Finland

59 Mann, Nicholas, Germany

60 Wayaffe, Jonathan, Belgium

61 Jacobi, Erwan, France

62 Perez Sandi, Eduardo, Mexico

63 Lejeune, Emmanuel, Belgium

64 Dreher, Thomas, Germany

65 Guerbeur, Nathan, France

66 Ludet, Cédric, France

67 Thompson, Nick, Australia

68 Pius, Rinel, Estonia

69 Vabaorg, Kevin, Estonia

70 Räppo, Henry, Estonia

71 Cometta, Patrick, Switzerland

72 Ott, Thomas, Germany

73 Elischer, Renning, Germany

74 Peitersen, Bastian, Denmark

75 Emde, Nick, Germany